

Born in 1970 in the county of Meurthe-et-Moselle in Nancy, Yaël Braun-Pivet is a politician and committed lawyer. Her dedication to defending the Republic and her constant fighting for justice, being the core of her values, surface from her grandfather, a Polish Jew who relocated to Nancy to flee the rising Anti-Semitism in the 1930s who thus influenced greatly her personal and professional devotion.

**FRANCE** 

After completing her law studies at the University of Nanterre, she began her career as a criminal lawyer in Master Hervé Termine's firm and later on established her own lawyer firm.

Mother of five children, she moved to Taiwan, Portugal and Japan for several years with her family. When the time to return back to France came, she settled down in the Yvelines county and engaged in Les Restos du Coeur, a charity organisation where she created free lawyer consultations to those in need and made sure that all could gain access to legal and social rights. Mrs Braun-Pivet carried on by creating a shelter for the most deprived in Sartrouville, where she visits whenever her time permits it.

In June 2017, she is elected MP of the 5th constituency of Yvelines with the promise of doing politics differently. The same year, she is elected president of the Law Comission of the National Assembly, a prestigious position she is only the second woman to ever hold. Being the rapporteur of the bill for the trust in political life, she also deals with major legislature topics such as the Covid-19 epidemic management, justice and penitentiary queries, the fight against Terrorism as well as the Overseas Territories, a region that she holds very dear to her heart.

Her attachment and commitment led her to being appointed Minister of Overseas on May 20, 2022, within Prime Minister Elisabeth Borne's government. In addition, she is reelected MP of the 5th constituency of Yvelines in June. Finally, on the 28th of June 2022, she becomes the first woman in history to access the Perchoir by being elected President of the National Assembly. She was re-elected as President of the National Assembly on 18 July 2024.

